top of page

Blog #159--Interesting Tidbits Not Included in Book, Part 8

This continuing series explores topics associated with but not included in my book “It’s a Secret, So Pass It On: a Toolbox For Life.”

Tidbit #1: I have shared multiple examples of how reversible electromagnetism works within Nature, both in my book and subsequent blogs. These naturally-occurring polarity reversals are as common in people as the rest of life on Earth, as the Chinese can attest. Due to an overpopulation problem, they decided to insist couples have no more than one child. They thought this would help prevent a further increase in population density, but like humans everywhere, they were unable to anticipate all the consequences of this decision.

Before the edict, males were favored over females in Chinese culture. When families were limited to one child each, most of them preferred sons. If girls were born, many were sold, given up for adoption or otherwise prevented from living with their parents in China. A relatively small minority of girls were born and accepted as a family’s only child.

Now, there are 30 million or so more young adult men in the population than women for them to marry and conceive children. They are now considered of less value than others in their society, a complete reversal of their usual position in Chinese hierarchy. Families who kept their girl children often spoiled them and gave them every benefit they could. They realized young girls had extra value compared with young boys because they were more in demand. Many were sent to schools outside the country, and some married men they met there.

As part of Chinese culture, a woman has a right to divorce a man if she isn’t happy with him. So I’m told some families seized the opportunity to make money off the desperation of male families. They would accept sizeable dowries for a marriage. After a short period together, the girl would divorce her husband, making her available for another man. Multiple marriages guaranteed multiple dowries.

While I’ve seen no statistics on this, I have no doubt that millions of unmarried young adult men are now in direct competition with one another over who is lowest in the Chinese hierarchy. It wouldn’t surprise me if murders and suicides were on the rise since few accept being least favored. Thus, males went from the top of the pecking order to the bottom as a result of parents choosing to reproduce a male child over a female child.

Even if Chinese authorities had looked into the long-term future and seen what was to transpire from their edict, it is highly doubtful they could have changed their entire culture to allow for all the side effects it would create. As in all cultures, most people are set in their ways and will change only when absolutely necessary. And the larger the population density, the more resistance there would be against multiple, sudden changes.

Had the people accepted both genders of their children equally, they would have a more balanced population of males and females now. But that is not the way Nature works, and humans are subject to those laws. The ego favors one polarity over its opposite. To recreate a balance, an energy beyond our control forces a reversal that goes to the opposite extreme. There is balance as an invisible pendulum crosses a middle line, but balance is fleeting. When the pendulum reaches its zenith on the other side, it is forced back toward the middle.

In the short term, it will be difficult for them to return to the old ways now that they have modified the polarity of the country as a whole. It will likely be a long time before the pendulum swings back the way it came. In the meantime, many young men will suffer from the imbalance between men and women in their society, much like their women used to suffer.

Tidbit #2: My book also describes how our bodies seek a balance. But even if we understand this, it is often hard for us to apply it to every situation we encounter. That is especially true when it comes to our own health. When we are sick, most of us want any kind of help we can find. Unfortunately, every treatment has negative side effects, and every change we make within our bodies causes them to do the opposite to recreate a balance. Thus, no treatment is a cure-all for our problems.

My emphysema has allowed me an excellent set of examples for this phenomenon. When I first began having trouble exhaling air from my lungs, a doctor prescribed an emergency inhaler. I used it only when necessary, but I soon noticed a need for it even when I wasn’t overexerting. I wasn’t addicted to it in the sense we can become addicted to alcohol or strong narcotics, but I noticed a shortness of breath and an anxiety when I wasn’t using the inhaler.

I have been taking three different inhalation therapies in recent years, and each produced a similar effect. When I was hospitalized recently for five days, I was given oxygen the entire time. I had never used oxygen before, but now I have it in my home and must use it constantly. At least, I think I need to use it constantly. There is a reason for this.

When we take a medicine, most any medicine, it at least temporarily reduces the body’s need to produce it or its equivalent by itself. So it shuts down production, which then makes us need the medicine more, which then further reduces production of our body’s normal supply, and on it goes in a downward spiral until complete dependency occurs. The oxygen made my lungs feel less need to work on the absorption of oxygen from the air I breathe. This has caused me to become dependent on the oxygen.

Granted, I was living with lower oxygen levels in my blood than would be ideal, and my ability to exercise and engage in other similar activities was decreasing. I was definitely a candidate for oxygen therapy. But now I must also accept the limiting factor of carrying oxygen with me wherever I go. The nasal canula is irritating at times, the amount of oxygen I need varies depending on my degree of exertion, and I trip on the long tube leading to my nose. I feel like Marley’s ghost from Charles Dickens’s “Christmas Carol,” dragging my heavy chains behind me wherever I go.

We don’t always have much choice in these matters. If our thyroid must be removed, we must replace its enzyme production artificially. Many diseases worsen over time, so we need treatment with or without worrying about an emotional dependency if we want to continue our lives. Or, we must accept a shortened lifespan. Life is a delicate balance, and less treatment is usually better than excessive treatment since fewer unbalancing side effects occur that way.

http://dreamtime3.wix.com/jacktuttlebook

Comments and questions can be directed to dreamtime@insight-books.com.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page