top of page

Blog #133--Metamorphosis Occurs in Humans Also

In my book “It’s a Secret, So Pass It On: a Toolbox For Life,” I provide numerous examples of the connections between all species and declare we are all variations on the same theme. Among the counter arguments is the notion that insects and a few other species undergo a metamorphosis or post-birth changes in their appearance, while mammals and especially humans supposedly do not. We are always trying to separate ourselves from the rest of Nature, but even in this case, similarities outweigh differences.

Butterflies and moths are among the species that undergo metamorphosis. They go from an egg to a larva or caterpillar, followed by the creation of a pupa (chrysalis or cocoon), where their bodies transform into winged adult insects capable of mating to repeat the cycle. Metamorphosis also occurs in amphibians like frogs and toads, although they don’t have a cocoon stage. The larval stage is called a tadpole, which lives the first few days of its life under water. It then undergoes changes which include the loss of its tail and the need to breathe air out of water.

Humans don’t form a cocoon, but we have many characteristics in common with amphibians. For a brief period during our fetal development, we have gill slits and a tail. Both are usually gone by birth, but not always. We also spend the first nine months of our existence in water, unable to breathe air but attaining sustenance through our mother’s placentas. At birth (in most cases), the hole existing between the two ventricles of our hearts closes so blood can begin to travel through the lungs, where it picks up oxygen to send to the rest of the body and excretes carbon dioxide, which the lungs eliminate. This transformation allows us to exist outside our mother’s womb.

One summer, I worked hoeing weeds in a tomato patch. A large all-green caterpillar accidently came between my hoe and the ground, and its head was severed from its body. To my surprise, the head continued to eat the tomato plants. Its instinct for eating was strong, and it took a long while before it finally died.

Frankly, some humans remain in this larval stage all their lives and remind me of that caterpillar. They may have complex lives, but their daily existence revolves around making sure they have enough to eat and drink to maintain their survival. They have no plan for personal development other than to live as long as they can. Some of them become government and financial leaders, using their strong survival instincts to fight against competitors and gather as much wealth as possible.

If we include our fetal development as part of our larval stage, then we definitely undergo physical changes at or before birth that makes us eventually become adult humans. But I believe there is also potential for at least some humans to undergo a metamorphosis similar to butterflies and moths. In fact, I may have experienced it, and I know from their biographies that others have also.

My larval stage continued for several years after I completed my schooling and had a job that could sustain myself and my family. But a major change in my life over which I had no control caused me to lose my family, my job and my professional credibility. I ended up living alone for 9 years. I basically hibernated, leaving the house only for the most basic functions.

One day I had a sudden explosion of awareness where my whole perspective was transformed. I would never again see the world or myself in the same way. Some might call it a religious awakening since that is how they experienced the phenomenon. It transformed me spiritually, but it also gave me a brand new understanding of how Nature works.

In a real way, I went from a caterpillar to a butterfly since I was now flying higher and seeing farther than I ever could previously. I went from trying to mimic how others lived their lives to developing the confidence to branch out on my own in new directions. I was a new man.

There are numerous stories of people who need time alone to their own thoughts. Some go into the wilderness and don’t return until they have been transformed. My home wasn’t a cabin in the woods, but it was my own private refuge during difficult times. In that sense, it was my cocoon. By the time I met my future wife, after years of unlearning all the things I was taught previously that no longer made sense to me, I was ready to emerge as a person vastly different than when I began the transformation.

All of us, including those who remain in a larval stage throughout their lives, are guaranteed to undergo another type of metamorphosis eventually. When we die, our spirits break their energy umbilical cord to our bodies and return to the space-time continuum, our true home of oneness with the universe and our creator. Some are too confused at death to understand what is happening, but the new freedom from the limits of our bodies and the electromagnetic forces which ground us on Earth can have a profound effect on us. Even if it takes many lifetimes to learn this, we eventually become free spirits, one with the universe itself. That completes the metamorphosis.

I have no doubt some people will not accept the above explanation as evidence we are similar to insects and other life forms, but that doesn’t make it incorrect. We are much more than we realize. Sharing our true nature with all other species can strengthen us, not diminish us. When we see ourselves in the rest of Nature, our transformation has been a success.

http://dreamtime3.wix.com/jacktuttlebook

Comments and questions can be directed to dreamtime@insight-books.com.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page